Hands Free Georgia
Hands Free Georgia Act
The Governor's Office of Highway Safety has likened distracted driving to drunk driving because of the erratic behavior of drivers. In fact, texting and driving may reduce reaction time by as much as 37 percent. The vast majority of related accidents are rear-end collisions involving drivers under the age of 25.
Thus, the Hands Free Georgia Act was signed into law on July 1st, 2018. Here is a refresher on what is and is not allowed.
Use of earpieces, headsets, and smart watches to talk
Texting and talking using hands-free technology
Using ONE button to activate voice recognition (i.e. Siri, Alexa)
Use of GPS or mapping app. You MAY NOT actively input info while driving
CB radios, CB radio hybrids, commercial two-way radios, subscription-based emergency communication devices, prescribed medical devices, amateur or ham radios and “in-vehicle security, navigation or remote diagnostics” systems
Holding or supporting a phone or any other device with any part of the body
Writing, sending or reading a text messages, instant messages, or e-mail
Reaching for a device if you are no longer in a seated, driving position or properly restrained by a seat belt
Watching videos or movies other than GPS or mapping apps
Recording a video
You can report a traffic accident, medical emergency, fire, a crime or a hazardous road condition
You can also use your hands if you’re lawfully parked. NOT AT A STOPLIGHT
Some people are exempt while performing official duties: police, firefighters, emergency medical personnel, other first responders and utility employees or contractors responding to a utility emergency.
First Offense: Up to $50 fine and one point on your license
Second Offense (within 2 years): Up to $100 fine and two points on your license
#lawbike #motorcycleinjuryattorney #motorcycleinjurylawyer #textinganddriving #motorcycleaccident #baddriver